Amanda’s Cowl

If moving to Maine has taught me anything, it’s this: friends are the family that you choose. As much as I miss my family (I’m lucky enough to see them every few months) the friends that I’ve made up in Maine have really become like a second family to me. This isn’t to say that making friends has been the easiest thing, something about trying to make friends as adults has this weird almost dating quality to it that making friends in college or high school didn’t really have.

DSC_1708

It may be that I have a penchant for making friends that are equally as nerdy as me, or it may just be that I’ve become unaware of the endless stream of Harry Potter references that I make, but I’ve definitely found myself seeking friendships with people that have embraced their nerdier sides. It doesn’t matter what it is really, but I really enjoy sitting with someone and listening to them explain something that they’re truly passionate about.

DSC_1710

This might be why most of the patterns I’ve posted so far on here have been made for friends. Especially in the colder months up here a simple hat or pair of mittens can show someone how grateful you are to have them around.

One of the people I’ve been lucky enough to friend-inherit is Isaac’s childhood best friend Amanda. Amanda and Isaac had the makings for the perfect “boy next door/girl next door” story, but instead all of those romantic plans were dashed when Isaac rode Amanda’s new bike into the pond between their grandparent’s houses. They were six or seven at the time, but Isaac can still do (what I imagine is) a perfect impression of six year old Amanda screaming “MY BIKE! MY BIKE!” Luckily for me, this means I get to keep Amanda around, which makes me a happy camper.

DSC_1687

Amanda is currently studying to be wilderness guide and hearing her talk about the process has been a lot of fun. While the exams and studying seem endless she’s been so excited to take on the challenges that are coming her way throughout all of this. I wanted to make her something for her birthday that would be practical for hiking, but would also be something that she could wear in real life. Which is why I settled on a cowl. It’s lighter than a scarf, but it’s still warm and can be used to protect your face if need be. And since Amanda goes on plenty of winter hikes, there’s definitely a need there.

DSC_1684

This cowl knits up really quickly and, if I hadn’t made it with the intention of giving it to Amanda I probably would have kept it for myself since I’m obsessed with moss stitch. The best part about this pattern is how simple the pattern is to memorize. As long as you can knit, purl, and make a stitch, you can make this cowl.

Here’s what you’ll need:

150 g super bulky yarn – I used Lion Brand’s Hometown USA Cape Cod Tweed

9 mm (Size 13) circular needles, 24-29” long

K – Knit

P – Purl

M1L – Make one stitch to the left

P2Tog

Cast on 60 stitches

Row 1: K1, P1, repeat until the end of the row

Repeat Row 1 seven more times. At the end of the eighth row, M1L.

Body: K2, P2 until your cowl has reached 10 inches in length. Once you’ve returned to the beginning of the piece, P2Tog.

Final Edge: K1, P1 until the end of row. Repeat seven more times and bind off. Weave in any ends.

 

Leave a comment